Home Departments Cancer Registry and Epidemiology


Head of the Department:

Dr.Saina Sunil Kumar


Registry is tasked with ensuring good quality cancer data available to inform and drive improvements in standards of cancer care and clinical outcomes, as well as enabling the use of cancer information to support audit and research programmes.


At both the national and community level, cancer registration schemes are central   to research into the nature and causation of cancer, to the planning of health service ,resources and cancer control programmes, and to the assessment of their efficacy .Cancer registration is thus part of  a modern health information system An  accurate  picture  of  the cancer  burden depends  on  the  creation of  a population-based cancer registry.


Registry can provide an accurate estimate of the future number of cancer patients ,to plan the best possible allocation of finite resources to the core elements of cancer control: primary prevention, screening and early diagnosis, treatment, rehabilitation and palliative care. Intrinsic in translating cancer predictions to decision-making processes is an understanding of the forces that might affect the future estimates in all the Departments ,specially Community Oncology  and Cancer palliative Medicine.


In collaboration with National Cancer Registry Programme of Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), a Hospital Based Cancer Registry (HBCR) was initiated on November 2010 and started functioning from February 2011 onwards. This department was set up to provide the cancer statistics reported at MCC and the information on patient care. HBCR is partially supported by NCRP- ICMR.The department has the following sub divisions;

1. Cancer Registry Division

2. Medical Record Division

3. Clinical Research and Biostatistics Division

4. Health Information Technology Division



  1. Hospital Based Cancer Registry Annual Report for the year  2010
  2. Hospital Based Cancer Registry Annual Report for the year  2011
  3. Booklet on Breast Cancer in Malayalam
  4. Hospital Annual Report 2010
  5. News letter-Abhayam-May 2013 

Faculties and Staff:

  1. Dr. Saina Sunil Kumar, Lecturer and Head of the Department
  2. Smt. Bindu T, Lecturer in Bio-Statistics
  3. Mr. Ratheesan K, Lecturer in Bio-Statistics
  4. Mr. Subhradev Sen, Lecturer in Bio-Statistics
  5. Dr. Atanu Bhattacharjee, Lecturer in Bio-Statistics
  6. Mr. Ranjith MK, System Manager
  7. Smt. Bhavina C, Junior System Analyst
  8. Shamna P, EDP Assistant
  9. Mr. Jayadev G, Medical Record Officer
  10. Mr. Sooraj Kumar C, Medical Records Assistant
  11. Mr. Ajesh CS, Medical Records Attender


Immediately requires on
permanent basis qualified Faculty as:
1. Radiation oncology,
2. Nuclear medicine,
1.Medical oncology,
2. Nuclear medicine,
3. Clinical Hematology
4. Radiology

For details Visit Career section of our website.

Due date of applications:
20/06/2020,5.00 PM


Results announced.
Click here for details